Fear not my friends, I'm still alive and kicking! - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Angela - WaarBenJij.nu Fear not my friends, I'm still alive and kicking! - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Angela - WaarBenJij.nu

Fear not my friends, I'm still alive and kicking!

Door: Angela

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Angela

29 Oktober 2014 | Thailand, Bangkok

Hello beauties,

Currently I am in Bangkok and it’s a complete different world out here compared to the laid-back island lifestyle I got used to so quickly... Unfortunately, I had to leave Koh Phangan earlier than expected… but it's all in a good cause :p I applied for a New Zealand working holiday visa and had to get a chest xray report from a hospital in Bangkok to prove that I don’t have TB... Yes, folks, you read that correctly….It is a complete random decision but if all goes well, I will be in New Zealand early next year :)!

So, I would like to share some of my Koh Phangan experiences with you… As you can tell procrastination has got the best of me…. I have been postponing my blogging sessions lately and in all fairness, I did try multiple times but I just had some issues writing about what I was doing In Koh Phangan. My life in Koh Phangan was far from boring but it wasn’t like I was doing anything crazy or extreme. I haven’t been doing typical touristy stuff, that’s probably why…You can easily do nothing in Koh Phangan and feel good about it :p... The island itself is so magical, the palmtrees, the clean pristine beaches, the different blue shades of the sea, the huge butterflies and dragonflies flying around… and here it comes, my childhood dream: Seeing fire flies! Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to see fire flies! And it was in Koh Phangan where I first saw them, can you imagine them? Just flying around u… Enchanting! It is hard not to feel blessed and grateful when things like that happen...

Now, I am sure you are wondering about what I have been doing for 5 entire weeks…. I spent my days doing yoga/meditation, hung out at the beach or pool, ate lots of yummie food and volunteered. It doesn't sound spectacular but trust me, my stay in Koh Phangan was all about unwinding, doing what I felt like and to live by the day… It sounds easy but for me it is not a natural thing to do…. Having amazing and easy going people around you helps too.. I have met so many fabulous people, other volunteers, who are so honest and open. I learned so much from these people and they made my stay there so unforgettable! It is so important to be around people who you can have fun with!

I think one of the highlights with them was when we went out partying. We went all the way to the other side of the island. We drove our scooters and took a taxi boat to get there and had a lovely dinner. After that we went partying and it was so nice to see everyone dancing, carelessly and not giving a damn about what people looked like, just having a good time :)! It isn’t the same when you go clubbing in a big city, everyone needs to look so dressy and glamorous! At around 1 am all the lights went on because apparently the government, is very strict about parties these days. Which is understandable, I am sure you know that drugs are illegal in Thailand but, it is surpringly easy to get weed, xtc and mushrooms there and the travelers are making “good use” of it and the new government is trying to stop that.

So, back to the story, since we were all drunk etc we just decided to all crash in the bar, we went around, collected some pillows and slept in the seating area which was so funny! The staff members didnt even care, they left us there and the next morning I woke up and I saw a rooster walking around in the bar…Walked down and watched the sunrise.. I mean, how random does it get? Doing something like that would definitely not cross my mind in the club in BKK or back home!

Before I let you go, one last thing: I learned how to drive a scooter in Koh Phangan, which is fantastic! I love driving around, it makes me feel so free and independent… Just driving around aimlessly and to enjoy the scenery feels wonderful. Anyone who knows me is aware of the fact that I absolutely dislike driving a car (it probably has something to do with the fact that I have zero driving skills)… I thought driving a scooter would be worse. I was so scared and inconfident about it that I didn’t even try the first few weeks but at one point I felt that I had to try it because on my mountain bike I would not be able to move around easily, too many hills in the burning heat! After trying (and falling once :’( ) I think I am doing quite well… I mean, not only am I able to drive one other passenger, there have been occasions where I had two people on the back of the scooter… you should BE PROUD of me! It is not an easy task but compared to the Thai, im just a rookie… Here, I see five people on one scooter or two people and a dog just cruising… All very normal in Koh Phangan….

Alright, that’s all for now… Have to get going now… I hope I won’t wait another 4 weeks until my next blog :p

Hope you are all doing well and feeling happy!! <3

Miss you lots!!
xoxo

  • 29 Oktober 2014 - 09:58

    Henry:

    keep looking fabulous baby!

  • 29 Oktober 2014 - 10:24

    Tanya:

    Angie!! everything sounds so amazing... Let's get a scooter in Holland and do some cruising ;-)
    Keep us up to date! xxxxx

  • 29 Oktober 2014 - 10:48

    Marije:

    You go girl, you free girl! Wonderful! :D

  • 29 Oktober 2014 - 11:10

    Petronella:

    Ik heb al je verhalen gelezen. Zo leuk en herkenbaar van mijn Azie ervaring.. Floating markets, karaoke, scooters, afgezet worden als toerist. Haha! Super leuk om te lezen. Ik zie het helemaal voor me.

    Have fun!

    Petronella

  • 17 December 2014 - 14:02

    Theo Suppers:

    Al weer een hele tijd niets van je gehoord. In elk geval een mooie kerst waar je ook bent.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Angela

My traveling journal....

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 501
Totaal aantal bezoekers 28243

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Augustus 2014 - 26 Mei 2015

Trip to Aussie, New Zealand & Southeast Asia <3

02 Februari 2012 - 31 Mei 2012

Volunteering in South Africa :)

01 Februari 2008 - 15 December 2008

Working in Aussie

26 Maart 2007 - 01 Oktober 2007

Sydney Internship

Landen bezocht: