It's been a while.... - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Angela - WaarBenJij.nu It's been a while.... - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Angela - WaarBenJij.nu

It's been a while....

Door: Angela

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Angela

02 Mei 2012 | Zuid-Afrika, Genadendal

Time flies when you’re having fun… It’s a cliché for a reason, I guess!

I have been lazy these days, spending a lot of time in bed because it’s autumn which means it is cold cuz our heater isnt't working :(

The end is near… I can still remember our first few days here…. All the friendly faces and everyone waving at us… sucha warm welcome (we still can’t sit in the car for more than 5 seconds without waving at people on the streets)! Or when we picked up the car with Lizelle, the first time I drove in our VW Chico… how scared I was and I recall seeing all the donkeys, cows n horses walking on the main road and in our backyard…. How odd that was in the beginning and how easily we got used to it all…

Today we have said our goodbyes at L.R. Schmidt and last week during the assembly we gave our goodbye speech in front of the whole school. Margriet is already leaving tomorrow night :( and I only have one more week to go at Emil Weder before my last day of teaching….. Time is running out!

Before I came here I really didn’t know what to expect but it’s been so great! It’s an amazing, life changing experience that I will definitely never forget, along with the loving, warm pupils that I got to know better along the way… I added a few of them on Facebook just so I can stay up to date with what’s going on in their lifes and here in Genaal… I hope I get to see them again someday…. If I ever get the chance to revisit Genaal :). So glad I didn't choose to go to England or the United states because I wouldn't trade this experience for anything else! Feeling so grateful that I was given this wonderful opportunity!



Tonight there will be a Farewell party at Emil Weder… One that we have organized with some of the other teachers… just so we can party once more with the “Emilarians” before we leave! Really looking forward to it…. Unlike the first schooldisco we went to, we know a lot of pupils now and I am sure it is going to be so much fun!

Will upload pics of the schooldance next time!

Big, big kisses from cold but sunny South Africa….!

PS: 13 days until my hun Ivy is coming to visit me.... <3 yippieeee!!

& note to Margriet: I will miss teaching with you and our random roadtrips ;) xx


  • 02 Mei 2012 - 11:34

    Asmae:

    Enjoy your last month there Angie! I know you and I know you will make sure to go back to Genaal soon! Maybe after you're done at the HAN!

    PS: you're pupils are pretty grown up haha

  • 05 Mei 2012 - 10:09

    Ray:

    Leuk om je blog weer te lezen. Hoe was de farewell party? Heb je nog leuke dance moves van hen geleerd ;) Je heb het toch nog wel droog kunnen houden hè? Nou geniet lekker van je laatste paar weken in SA!

  • 08 Mei 2012 - 07:34

    MLP:

    Angie,
    Nice stories....keepin it real sistah!

    If every picture tells a story than I my question is .....how many outfits/clothes did you take with you girl....best dressed South African or what?
    Very Sharp....Very Sharp.

    Oliver says hi and wants a cuddle off ya.

    Love

    MLP
    x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Angela

My traveling journal....

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 380
Totaal aantal bezoekers 28221

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Augustus 2014 - 26 Mei 2015

Trip to Aussie, New Zealand & Southeast Asia <3

02 Februari 2012 - 31 Mei 2012

Volunteering in South Africa :)

01 Februari 2008 - 15 December 2008

Working in Aussie

26 Maart 2007 - 01 Oktober 2007

Sydney Internship

Landen bezocht: